Five-Spice Tofu and Roasted Chickpea Salad with Avocado Dressing

2015-08-29 14.05.46

I may have finally cracked the code to making a truly great salad! This baby is packed with an array of colours, flavours and textures, is filling and nutritious and is ready in under 30 minutes. This salad, my friends, is a dream come true for me!

I don’t have much to say about this salad, it really speaks for itself. I really can’t take too much credit for this as the salad was really a vehicle to use up some amazingly delicious Tofuking five-spice tofu which I found at my local Asian grocery store. It has a fantastic firm texture and a gorgeous flavour, I can’t wait come up with a recipe using my second packet! If you can’t get hold of five-spice tofu I suggest using smoked or marinated tofu. Check out your local Asian grocers or health food store.

In other news, I’ve been overwhelmed by the interest I’ve had in my Red Wine Seitan Steaks recipe. Check it out if you haven’t already! And while you’re internetting, please consider visiting the blog’s Facebook page and giving it a like. Your support means the world to me!

This recipe is shared with Recipe of the Week and Plant-Based Potluck Party.

Link up your recipe of the week

2015-08-29 14.06.14

Five-Spice Tofu and Roasted Chickpea Salad with Avocado Dressing

Serves 2-3

Ingredients

400g can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

¼ tsp turmeric

¼ tsp paprika

¼ tsp garlic powder

Olive oil spray

230g approx. five-spice tofu, cubed

2 heads romaine lettuce, shredded

2 handfuls baby spinach, shredded

For the avocado dressing: 2 ripe avocadoes, flesh only

1 clove garlic, peeled and chopped

Handful coriander, chopped

1 tbsp soy sauce

Juice ½ lemon

  1. Preheat oven to 200oC/gas mark 6/400o Place the chickpeas in a roasting pan and sprinkle on the paprika, garlic powder and turmeric. Spray with olive oil and toss to coat. Roast in the preheated oven for 20 minutes. Remove and set aside.
  2. Meanwhile, place a large frying pan over a medium heat and spray with olive oil. When hot, add the cubed tofu in a single layer. Fry the tofu on four sides for about 30 seconds each side. Set aside.
  3. To make the dressing, place all the ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth.
  4. To assemble the salad, place everything into a large mixing bowl just before serving and toss to mix well.

2015-08-29 14.06.42

4 responses to “Five-Spice Tofu and Roasted Chickpea Salad with Avocado Dressing

  1. I love adding chickpeas to salads and really like the sound of these roasted chickpeas! I wish I could buy five-spice tofu where I live, it sounds delicious. Maybe it’s just a case of buying ordinary tofu and marinating it in five-spice?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks! Yes, I’m sure that would work. I’ve never tried freezing tofu but I’ve heard that it gives it an extra firm texture. I love the texture of the five spice tofu and I don’t think pressing alone is enough to achieve the same texture. I plan to experiment!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Share Good Food & Make New Friends at the Plant Based Potluck Party Link Up #62 #VGNMF15·

Leave a Reply

