Simple Creamy Potato Salad

2015-08-18 12.31.28

After seeing a recent photograph of myself take from a rather unflattering angle (cheers, Dad!) I can no longer deny it: I need to cut the crap. The dietary crap. Now, I am a HUGE lover of vegan junk food. I always tell myself that the vegan version of ‘junk’ food is healthier and lower fat than the animal-product-containing version. I also tell myself its ok to eat whatever I like as long as it’s vegan, which is probably true… in moderation. And therein lies the problem! So from today I’m cutting down processed food and oh-so-tempting desserts to a bare minimum. Sad face.

My effort began with this potato salad, and it got me off to a great start. I am not a big fan of salads; for me to even entertain eating a salad it has to be substantial, it has to have great flavour and above all it has to be exciting. By exciting I really mean “not just a plate of raw veggies”. This potato salad is made delicious by the creamy white sauce. Instead of smothering the potatoes in mayo, I made a healthier version using silken tofu flavoured with tahini.

This salad can be served either warm or cold, and makes an ideal light lunch or side dish. It was also a big hit with my kids and my partner; a wholesome dish for all the family!

This recipe is shared with Gluten Free Fridays and Free From Fridays.

Vegetarian Mama
Free From Farmhouse

2015-08-18 12.31.50

Simple Creamy Potato Salad

Serves 3-4 as a lunch or 6 as a side

Ingredients

750g mini potatoes or other small potatoes, halved if large

4 spring onions, white and green parts, sliced diagonally

Small handful chives, sliced

Handful flat leaf parsley, chopped

Dressing: 350g silken tofu

1 tbsp tahini (I used light)

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 tbsp hemp seeds

½ clove garlic, chopped

½ tsp Dijon mustard

Salt and black pepper to taste

Shredded romaine lettuce, to serve

  1. Place the potatoes in a pan of water. Bring to the boil and cook until tender, about 8-10 minutes. Drain and leave to steam dry. Allow to cool if you want to serve the salad at room temperature.
  2. Place all the dressing ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth. Taste and adjust the seasoning.
  3. Transfer the potatoes to a large bowl and add the spring onions, fresh herbs and sauce. Mix well. Stir before serving with shredded romaine lettuce.
Leave a Reply

