Pea and Broad Bean Bruschetta with Pea Shoots and Red Onion

2015-08-11 14.11.23

Hello all, and happy Tuesday! I’m so glad to be back home and writing recipes again! Cooking in a tiny caravan with a tenth of the ingredients I usually have to hand and no wooden spoons (no, really) was no easy task I can tell you. It certainly encouraged me to make my meals simpler though.

I’m very guilty of adding far too many ingredients when cooking. I’m also guilty of hardly ever making a meal that involves little to no cooking with heat. Maybe that’s largely down to the fact that I live in chilly Britain, or maybe it’s because I love a good, hot, comforting meal. Whatever the reason, I now pledge to make more simple meals and less cooked dishes!

This bruschetta is a delight to make and eat. The pea and broad bean topping requires no cooking – in fact the only heat involved is that used to toast the bread, making this ideal as a light lunch on a hot day. It can also be served as a starter; I suggest following it with Vegan Spaghetti Carbonara. I can also confirm this is kid approved my 20-month-old and ten-year-old boys and is a great healthy recipe for your little ones too!

By far my favourite thing about this dish is the vibrant colour. If you’ve read a few of my other posts you might well have noticed that I like my food colourful, especially green! I’m sure I’m not alone in finding a beautiful, vibrant meal so much more exciting than a dish that appears dull and lifeless.

You can use frozen and thawed peas and broad beans in this recipe, but I love the flavour pop of fresh peas! Podding the peas and beans is a bit of a fiddle, and you will also need to remove the bitter skins from the broad beans, but I promise this is worth the effort! If you just can’t face it, I won’t judge! Try it with frozen veg; it’s still pretty darn yum!

So, without further ado, I give you my absolute favourite bruschetta; I hope you love it too!

This recipe is shared with Plant-based Potluck Party and Healthy Vegan Fridays.

Healthy Vegan Fridays at Rock My Vegan Socks
2015-08-11 14.11.48

Pea and Broad Bean Bruschetta with Pea Shoots and Red Onion

Serves 2-4 as a light lunch or 6 as a starter

Ingredients

220g garden peas (from approx. 450g peas in pods), podded

200g broad beans (from approx. 500g broad beans in pods, podded and skins removed*

2 cloves garlic, peeled and roughly chopped

Small handful fresh parsley

Small handful pea shoots

Juice ½ lemon

1-2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

1 tsp salt or to taste

½ tsp black pepper or to taste

1 loaf sourdough bread, sliced into approx. 1cm slices

1 clove garlic, cut in half

Olive oil spray

50g pea shoots

½ small red onion, finely diced

*To remove the skins from the broad beans, make a little slit in one end of the skin and squeeze the bean so that it pops out of the skin. It doesn’t matter if the beans break apart as they will be mashed up anyway.

  1. To make the bruschetta topping, combine the peas, broad beans, garlic, parsley, pea shoots, lemon juice, olive oil and salt and pepper in a food processor. Process until combined and finely chopped. Transfer to a blender and add 2-3 tbsp water. Blend until mashed. The consistency you are looking for is a somewhat coarse puree. If you have a high speed blender you may be able to use it throughout this step, rather that switching from food processor to blender. Set aside the puree until needed.
  2. Place a griddle pan over a medium-high heat. When hot, place a few slices of sourdough bread on the griddle in a single layer and press down lightly with a spatula. Toast until griddle marks appear on the bread, then turn over and toast the other side. Remove from the pan, rub each slice with the cut side of the halved garlic clove and spray lightly with olive oil. Repeat with the remaining slices of bread.
  3. To serve, place the required number of toast slices on a serving plate and top each with 1-2 tbsp pea and broad bean topping. Garnish with pea shoots and diced red onion. Spray the pea shoots with a little olive oil just before serving.
5 responses to “Pea and Broad Bean Bruschetta with Pea Shoots and Red Onion

  1. Oooh I happen to be picking up some sourdough baguettes at the market on Saturday. I’ll have to track down some peas to make this. Love the sound of this bruschetta! And it is very green & vibrant. You manage to crank out some pretty awesome recipes despite your lack of kitchen space & utensils.
    Thanks so much for sharing this at Healthy Vegan Fridays – I’m pinning this =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: 15 Easy Recipes to Start Your Vegan Journey with - Oh, Wholly Vegan !·

Leave a Reply

