Lincolnshire Animal Sanctuaries

Hello everyone! I’m back from a week’s holiday in the seaside town of Mablethorpe, Lincolnshire. First up, I’d like to apologise for the lack of posts in the past week. My Butternut Squash and Black Bean Burritos recipe should have been scheduled for publication on Tuesday, but for some reason wasn’t posted. I did however publish the recipe tonight so feel free to check it out! Secondly, I’d like to tell you a little about my holiday and share a few snaps from two of the three animal sanctuaries we visited in Lincolnshire.

On the subject of food, having asked around on the internet in advance I wasn’t expecting a plethora of vegan options to be available in Mablethorpe itself. I took a few essential items with me and cooked all the food myself in the caravan we rented for the week. We were, however, able to get a few goodies including vegan ice cream and donuts from Mablethorpe Co-operative, which I can honestly say is the biggest Co-op I have ever seen!

On the long drive from Stoke to Mablethorpe, we stopped off in Nottingham and visited Alley Cafe, which serves a mostly vegan menu. The menu was extensive and although the cafe itself is upstairs they do have an outdoor seating area downstairs where our menus and food were brought to us. My partner Steve was particularly impressed by their Greek Salad and although it’s a while away from home we would love to visit again sometime!

On the way home a week later we stopped off at Pimento Tea Rooms in Lincoln, a vegetarian cafe with an impressive range of vegan options. I had the most delicious sweet potato and cashew nut curry while both my sons had jacket potatoes with creamy hummus and the most gorgeous giant olives. The vegan hot chocolate was also fantastic! We also picked up some vegan Bakewell tart from Bonbon Bouche, a cafe boasting a rooftop garden with an array of gorgeous looking cakes. Unfortunately the Bakewell tart was the only vegan cake available but I can promise it was the most flavourful, moist, perfect Bakewell I have ever had the pleasure to taste!

Now, onto the moment I’m sure you’ve been waiting for – the animals! Believe it or not, I had never before visited an animal sanctuary of any kind! We knew we would be within walking distance of Mablethorpe Seal Sanctuary, and because we enjoyed our visit there so much we drove to Skegness to visit Natureland Seal Sanctuary too. It was completely by chance, however, that we happened upon Radcliffe Donkey Sanctuary. This may have been the happiest accident of my life (not counting the children, of course!

The photographs I am about to share with you require few words, but I hope they will inspire you to visit an animal sanctuary, particularly these three should you ever be nearby! Unfortunately, I do not have any photos from Natureland, but I can assure you that our visit there was amazing. I have to say that being near so many rescued animals was a real eye-opener, particularly in the seal sanctuaries, both of which have seal hospitals on site. It was a very rewarding experience to see these animals, who could so easily have been left to suffer, being given the opportunity to be cared for, rehabilitated and often being prepared for re-release back into the wild. I can’t wait to visit more sanctuaries like these!

Leave a Reply

