No-Bake Vegan P, B & J Cheesecake

DSCN0612

I wanted to include more dessert recipes on the blog. Dessert is not my strong point, mainly due to lack of practice. It’s not that I don’t enjoy baking, more that I only have to glance momentarily at a slice of chocolate fudge cake for my waist to expand. After many trials and many, many errors I have come to realise that the only dessert I’m any good at making without a recipe is cheesecake. I’ve also decided that, due to my major obsession with cheesecake, I’m cool with this.

This recipe is most definitely my new favourite cheesecake of all time. The crunchy base contrasts perfectly with the rich, creamy filling and the hint of strawberry jam adds an extra special touch. This is a no-bake cheesecake which you can set in the freezer in order to speed up the process, meaning that you could be eating this cheesecake just two hours after putting it together! Who wouldn’t want that?

This post is shared with Recipe of the Week and Veggie Wednesdays.

Link up your recipe of the week
The Culinary Mama

DSCN0614

No-Bake Vegan P, B & J Cheesecake

Serves 8-10

Ingredients

For the base: 175g Biscoff caramelized biscuits, crushed

2 tbsp coconut oil, melted

2 tbsp peanut butter, warmed to soften

For the filling: 700g silken tofu

250g vegan cream cheese (I used Violife Creamy)

3 tbsp coconut oil

3 tbsp agave nectar

4 tbsp peanut butter

4-5 tbsp strawberry jam

4-6 fresh strawberries, halved

  1. Grease a loose-bottomed cake tin.
  2. To make the base, mix all the ingredients well. Transfer to the greased cake tin and press down in an even layer.
  3. Place 3-4 tbsp of strawberry jam on the base and spread in an even layer, leaving about ½” border around the edge.
  4. To make the filling, combine all the ingredients in a food processor and process until smooth, scraping down the sides as necessary. Pour the filling onto the cheesecake base and smooth out the top to form an even layer.
  5. Decorate the top of the cheesecake using fresh strawberries and the remaining strawberry jam. Place the cheesecake in the freezer for about 2 hours to set. Remove from the freezer about 10-20 minutes before serving. I recommend storing any leftovers in the freezer as when I stored mine in the fridge the jam sort of seeped out of the base and formed a pool of strawberry syrup which, while delicious, didn’t look so fantastic!
8 responses to “No-Bake Vegan P, B & J Cheesecake

  1. This looks so tasty! Love the idea of PB & J in a cheesecake, I really need to try this for myself. And I know what you mean about just looking at dessert and your waistline expands, haha…same problem here!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s more of a flavour accent! Do you dislike all nut and/or seed butters? You could replace the peanut butter with something else!

      Like

    • Thanks, using tofu in desserts was a revelation for me too! I love the silky smooth, creamy texture when blended!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Courgette, Aubergine and Red Pepper in Satay Sauce | The Green Genie·

Leave a Reply

