Caribbean-Style Tempting Tempeh Curry

DSCN0591

Today I’ve got something unlike any recipe I’ve posted before. Okay, so it’s another curry, but this one is different. What can I do with my leftover homemade tempeh, I wondered? As is my solution pretty much every time I ask myself this regarding any ingredient, I decided to put it in a curry. But not just any curry; a Caribbean curry. It was a good call.

Now I’m not well-researched in the area of Caribbean cuisine (I do love me some Caribbean literature though), so this may well be far from authentic. For starters, as I understand it, Caribbean curries tend to be blow-your-head-off hot. I wanted mine kid-friendly, so although the curry contains hot chilli sauce and curry powder, it’s pretty mild. I added most of the heat for myself and my partner as an option at the end by adding chopped raw chilli before serving. Yum.

As well as the tempeh, which you can buy online or in some health food stores (look out for my how-to on homemade tempeh coming up soon), this curry also contains jackfruit. I’m not going to lie, it was mainly because I had half a tin leftover. The jackfruit I’ve used here is the type canned in syrup, not water. The type canned in water is the one used most often in vegan cooking as a substitute for pulled meats. The type canned in jackfruit is the ripened, sweeter version. You can find both in Indian or Asian stores. Tamarind paste can also be found in Indian stores. Its function is to add a sourness when balancing flavours. If you can’t find Caribbean curry powder, here are some directions to make your own.

This post is shared with Plant Based Potluck Party over at Urban Naturale and Gluten Free Fridays at Vegetarian Mamma.

Vegetarian Mama

DSCN0593

Caribbean-Style Tempting Tempeh Curry

Serves 4

Ingredients

350g tempeh, cubed

1 medium sweet potato, peeled and cubed

Olive oil spray

1 onion, peeled and chopped

1 red pepper, deseeded and chopped

1 bulb fennel, trimmed and chopped

1 thumb-sized piece ginger, peeled and grated

2-3 cloves garlic, peeled and finely chopped

2 tbsp mild Caribbean curry powder

400g can black beans, drained and rinsed

150g jackfruit canned in syrup, drained weight

2 x cinnamon sticks

1 x bay leaf

350ml crushed tomatoes

1tbsp hot chilli sauce

1 tsp tamarind paste

100g spinach

¼ small bunch coriander, chopped

Juice of 1 lime

1 red chilli, finely chopped (optional)

  1. Place the tempeh cubes in a medium saucepan and add enough water to almost, but not quite, cover the tempeh. Bring to the boil, cover, reduce to a simmer and allow to steam for 10-15 minutes. Meanwhile, boil the sweet potato cubes in a separate saucepan for about 8-10 minutes until just tender. Drain both when done.
  2. Place a large cast iron or other heavy-based pan on a medium heat and spray with olive oil. Add the onion, fennel and red pepper and cook, stirring occasionally, for 5-10 minutes until softened. Add the garlic and ginger and cook for 1-2 minutes. Add the curry powder with a splash of water and mix well.
  3. Add the tempeh, sweet potato, black beans, jackfruit, cinnamon sticks, bay leaf, crushed tomatoes, hot chilli sauce and tamarind paste with about 250ml water and mix well. Bring to the boil, cover, reduce heat and simmer for 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.
  4. Turn off the heat and stir in the spinach, coriander and lime juice. Serve with rice and garnish with chilli if liked.
4 responses to “Caribbean-Style Tempting Tempeh Curry

  1. This sounds so exotic! Definitely going to have to try this out (we love curries here!). And omg, homemade tempeh – can’t wait to see that post!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Sara,
    How yummy! Spicy curried dishes are always a winner in my book! I have been planning to try more tasty and creative tempeh recipes this summer, so I am delighted that you shared your healthy and delectable Caribbean-inspired recipe for using leftover homemade tempeh with us at the Plant-Based Potluck Party Link Up. I appreciate it. I’m pinning and sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

