Super-Fast Spaghetti with Blue Cheese and Chorizo

DSCN0493

Hello all, I hope you’re all having a great week. First of all, I want to apologise for the lack of post on Sunday. I was out having a meal with some local vegans and had a brilliant time! Unfortunately, I’ve been eating out/eating take away quite a lot recently and I’ve started to feel quite ill as a result of all the junk I’ve eaten. Therefore, today I embarked on a raw food detox.

I have never attempted a raw food diet before, even for a short time. My initial hope was to manage a week raw but I now think that is not only ambitious but also quite unlikely! The first thing I have learned from my raw detox day is that I definitely should have done more research before trying to make such a drastic dietary transition. The second thing I have learned is that I really love cooked food! I just can’t muster up the same passion for raw food as I have for cooked food. For me, it lacks the comfort factor of a hot meal. Sure, eating raw saves a lot of time and dirty dishes, but it doesn’t make me happy in the same way as leisurely cooking a delicious meal.

I do want to stress, though, that this hasn’t been an entirely negative experience. I have the same amount of energy I always have and managed two hours of gym classes with no problems. I have only a very slight headache, which I’m fairly certain is caused by toxins leaving the body. The only physical ‘side effect’, for want of a better term, is hunger! It may be psychological but it certainly feels physical and it has been pretty much constant despite the fact that I have eaten a healthy volume of food including plenty of protein and some healthy fats. I have experienced this before when following a low fat diet and I am wondering if it may be a lack of carbs.

This is what I ate today:

Breakfast: Smoothie consisting of frozen banana, frozen mixed berries, strawberries, hemp seeds and almond milk (about 300ml total)

Lunch: Smoothie consisting of beetroot, apple, goji berries, cashew nuts and water (about 300ml total)

Post-workout snack: Banana bread Nak’d bar

Dinner: Salad consisting of lettuce, baby spinach, rocket, basil, tomatoes, avocado and lentil sprouts with a raw garlic and cashew nut dressing (large bowlful)

Snack: Trail mix consisting of almonds, pecan nuts, sunflower seeds and dried cranberries (small bowlful)

Drinks: Water, water and more water!

Will I continue to eat a fully raw diet? Probably not, but for the next few days it’s going to be mostly raw. Fortunately, I did the food shop this morning before the hot-food-blues set in and it consisted almost completely of fruit and veggies, so now I have two fridges full (yes, we have two fridges) of delicious fresh produce to eat!

In other news, yesterday was my birthday (28, if you must know!) and my partner treated me to some funky new plates and bowls from Emma Bridgewater just for my blog photos! I was going to post the recipe for my birthday cake, but it fell apart (sad face). It did taste great though and had the texture of a pudding rather than a cake, so I will definitely be experimenting with the recipe in the near future!

And finally, on to today’s recipe! This is an incredibly quick and easy meal, which is literally ready in the time it takes to boil some spaghetti. It is by no means from scratch and requires not one, but two ready made products, but I promise you that when you are short on time and need a quick and delicious meal, this is the meal you are looking for! It really is incredibly moreish!

Enjoy the recipe! In the interest of honesty, I am probably going to eat some toast now!

This recipe is featured at The Culinary Mama’s Veggie Wednesdays!

The Culinary Mama

DSCN0495

Super-Fast Spaghetti with Blue Cheese and Chorizo (Vegan)

Serves 2

Ingredients

200g whole wheat spaghetti

Sea salt

Handful of walnuts, broken up into smaller pieces

Olive oil spray

4 x vegan chorizo (I used Vegourmet Chorizo Brats Fuego)

100g vegan meltable blue cheese, grated or torn into pieces (I used Vegourmet Jeezo Blue slices)

100ml non-dairy milk (I used Alpro Oat)

  1. Bring a large pot of water to the boil and season with salt. Add spaghetti and cook according to package instructions.
  2. Meanwhile, place a medium frying pan on a medium heat. Add the walnuts and lightly toast, shaking the pan often, for about 3-4 minutes. Set aside.
  3. Spray the frying pan with olive oil spray. Add the chorizo and cook, turning once, for about a minute until heated through. Set aside and leave to cool slightly before slicing diagonally. Wrap in kitchen foil to keep warm.
  4. Place a medium saucepan over a medium heat and add the cheese and milk and cook, stirring, until the cheese is melted and a thick smooth sauce is formed. Turn off the heat and cover to keep warm.
  5. When the spaghetti is cooked, reserve a little cooking water and drain. Add to the cheese sauce and mix well, adding some pasta water to loosen if needed. Serve the spaghetti topped with the walnuts and chorizo.

DSCN0491

Leave a Reply

